top of page
  • Writer's picturelucinda

The Faces We're Coming To Know- TRINITY KITCHING

The relationship Trinity Kitching holds between creativity and creative mediums is one that gently iterates the contention so many of us feel. It has been an inconsistent relationship- a process of making art through many different phases. An individual well-versed in many forms, she has lingered in the realm of acting whilst extending to directing and writing. Further, Trin’s consistent return to music has seen her flourish as a singer, pianist and clarinet player. “I have… managed to keep music in my life for the time being by performing the odd gig and singing on the worship team at church”, she explained.

Yet, none of this has ever felt wholly inclusive of the creative style Trinity hope to pursue.

Above all, Trinity is a storyteller.

Her love for sharing tales with those around her, no matter the medium, has consistently penetrated her creative pursuits.

It is this passion, too, which has caused the most internal tension. “I knew for sure that I wanted to tell stories in some way, I just didn't know how. I was really worried that if I chose one avenue of expression I would close the door forever to all the others. That's why I loved school - I never had to choose.”, she remarked- and what a humble reflection this is for so many of us.

Having to make such a choice presented a particular challenge this year, as Trinity finished her HSC and began searching (at times through the force of others) for what tertiary route she would like to take. This lead to a disappointing moment, when she left a film school that wasn’t the right fit for her

“Since then, I have realised a few things”, she remarked. “Our lives are a lot longer than we think… I have an aunt who, at fifty years old, completely abandoned her thirty-year career as a hairdresser, went to university and got a nursing degree”. Inspired by the ‘green fig tree’ passage in Sylvia Plath’s apt The Bell Jar, Trinity has wrestled with the balance of living “no life at all” for the sake of living a wise one.

Her second revelation came when reflecting on the life she has been given. “I believe that God has given us our passions and talents for a reason, and that investing in and nurturing these gifts is an act of worship towards Him, drawing us closer to the plan and purpose He has ordained for our lives. So I don't need to worry that I'm chasing after the wrong ambition, because as long as I'm chasing a closer relationship with God, the one who spoke the whole universe into existence with a single breath and had planned out the course of my life even then, I think I'll be just fine.”

As a result of this, Trinity was hesitant to reveal what she ultimately aims to achieve in the creative industry. “This is partly because I'm still figuring it out myself, and partly because I find that sometimes when I'm talking about things like that, my goals can become tainted by other people's opinions. Once I reveal something that intimate, I'm leaving it out for people to tell me that either it's not reasonable (thus leaving me feeling ashamed and childish) or that they're excited for me (which, like it or not, adds external pressure). I want to ensure that the things that I want to achieve are mine and that my motives are purely self and God directed.”

Unlike former articles, this piece does not aim to articulate the talent of Trinity’s work. She is an unmistakably skilled creative and nuanced wordsmith, but her creative plight spans beyond this. Trinity’s niche is the deep introspection she exhibits towards both her character and her practice. It is this kind of introspection, this rational self-analysis that characterises great writing. Trinity’s journey in finding her own medium is beautifully relevant for so many, and in time will prove abundance within a creative field.








109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page